top of page
Search

Let's Talk Description

Ah description, my friend, how do you do what you do?


Sometimes, when it comes to writing, my imagination is very limited. No matter what I do, I just can't think. I don't know what to write or how to describe a scene in ways that doesn't disrupt the flow. There are multiple things I do when I am stuck and I'll be discussing some of my top techniques that help me flow with descriptions.


Firstly, I look at images of a place, person, or even an object so I can combine random images and create something in my head that I want to describe. I learned this skill from an amazing friend of mine, who is a very talented writer. Once when we were outside together, we went around describing the items that we saw, and this made me realize it's not that I can't describe things, I just need a starting point to be able to picture something. Another thing that helps me describe, especially feelings, is poetry. I have another friend, who is an exceptional artist, and we have been working together for the past few months, where we use each other's works to either draw or write. This really helps me, because after looking at her projects, I consider what I am feeling and the words I can use to describe this feeling. Later, when I'm describing how my characters feel, I can compare it back to the drawings I saw and the emotions her works expressed to me.


Second, I play a song or a tune based on what I am trying to describe, whether it is something dramatic or calming, and then I close my eyes to picture the scene. Doing this has really helped me learn a certain fact about my brain. I am sure I have said this before for one of the blog posts and I will repeat it, because I have to often remind myself that my imagination is as limited as I make it out to be. When I want to, I can write all the description in the world and describe places that don't exist all by pretending to enter a world full of magical creations that are beyond boundaries. I just need to believe that I can. I have learned that I need to be confident in what I write for others to care about my work. This also applies for when I'm writing realistic fiction, even if it is set in a real location. The whole point of writing description (for me, at least) is to consider how I feel using my five senses. I can't always smell things, so I focus more on what I see and what it reminds me of.


For example, if there are three buildings in front of me, all of different heights and let's say one is made of bricks, and the other two are steel, I'm going to describe what I perceive. Right now, I'm imagining that this brick building is old with cracked windows, faded colors of the bricks and maybe there's even damaged pipelines. Compared to the steel buildings that are possibly hovering over this small brick building, I wonder how it makes them feel (yes, I'm using personification). Does the brick building feel overwhelmed and stuck between two modern structures? Though most of this doesn't make it into my writing, I use these thoughts to determine the verbs I'll pick to write the scene. For this specific scene, I might describe the steel buildings as towering above the brick building, each one just as determined to gallop toward the sky, even if the old property appeared to be on the verge of collapsing.


Note, I'm just being dramatic and will only describe buildings this way if it means something to one of my characters. This brings up a really good point that needs to be mentioned: pay attention to when description matters and is needed. If there's too much dialogue then maybe you need description. Sometimes, I'll be sitting in a place for a very long time, but I'll only later notice that there's a stain on the wall. This really helps, because I don't have to rush to describe everything at once when my character walks into a room even if they're already looking around. We tend to skip past certain things. Also, don't describe unnecessary details, like the cars your characters own if it has nothing to do with the plot of the story. Smell is one of the harder senses to ignore (unless you can't smell), so if there is a strong smell wherever you are, describe it first. If you're not sure what something smells like or how you can create better imagery, search up good and bad smells and consider scents that you know to come up with description.


Let's discuss how to balance dialogue with description. For myself, when I'm talking to someone, I focus on all possible movements they are engaging in. This includes (but not limited to) hands, body and lip movements. Is the person making eye contact when talking to me? Are they continuously reaching for their phones, or glancing at the people around us? Now I can't always focus on this when I'm trying to listen to what someone is telling me and forming an appropriate response. So, this will help determine how often you should add description between dialogue. Especially, when the conversation is heated, who cares what color your walls are (unless there's a splatter of blood on the walls after someone dies, do describe this). In other situations, when no one is dying, describe how you feel instead. How angry are you that this other person isn't listening to you? What color are their cheeks when they're angry ? Are you or the other person flailing around your hands, trying to make sense of your chaotic thoughts? Describe it (but make it realistic if this isn't a fantasy novel. I don't know if people's eyes just darken when they're angry)!


Most times, before I describe anything I need to find out when I'll describe it and why I will do it. Often, based on whose perspective I'm writing in, I will focus on what this person is likely to feel and notice. When I enter a house for the first time (or even the tenth time), my eyes are likely to stray to new and old art pieces. Then I note any plants, fireplaces or furniture that I like and later, I might notice the number of plates someone has kept on display. Description changes based on what one prefers to look at and what they have. Also, not all your characters will describe something in the same way. If I am describing a dressing table, I might just focus on its color and whether its decorated with pictures. Now let's say, a child is describing the same furniture. First of all, do they know what it's called? Not everyone knows the word for every single item in this world. At least, I don't. What I'm trying to explain is that we don't always focus on the same aspects of an object, scene or person when describing them. I have a friend who describes someone's shoes, whereas I'll be likely to focus on their clothing or any jewelry that stands out.


Consider this: if one of my characters has never experienced winter, I can't describe something for them by saying [said person] felt the blow sting their cheeks like the breeze of a harsh winter. It just doesn't make sense. To create believable characters, the description needs to fit. Think about it this way: have you ever been shot? No, then you won't describe a certain pain you feel, like a gun shot wound.


And that is all I have for now. If you haven't read the last blog post, check it out: Where to Showcase Your Writing!


Thanks to @nicole_lam_author for teaching me how to describe something and helping me with my descriptions. Also, @eymen.arts for letting me use her art pieces as inspiration for poems. Check out both their Instagram pages for some amazing content!

If you're in need of feedback for the first chapter of your short story or manuscript, feel free to send it to Ayishah and I at dreamingininkinquiries@gmail.com. The submission deadline is August 8th, 2020, and there is no cost or limit to your amount of submissions. See more details on our Instagram page @dreaming.in.ink!


24 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Writing Log #3 & Writer's Block

Have you ever found yourself staring at a blank piece of paper, your hands itching to writer, but no matter how much you try, nothing seems to come out? Ah, most of us must be very familiar with the t

The Dream Fulfilled

In my creative writing class, the professor asked us to read the introduction of Anne Lamott's Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life. It was a beautiful excerpt, filled with details abou

bottom of page