top of page
Search

The Books That Changed My Life

Updated: Apr 24, 2020

Over the years, my taste in books has drastically expanded, but there is still one particular genre that continues to inspire me, again and again, one that I enjoy writing so much---and that is fantasy. However, my favourite books are not, in fact, only fantasy. They vary from genre to genre, because what makes them so special varies, too---there are so many authors out there who are extremely, extremely talented in many different ways, and who must be given recognition for their outstanding works.


I love books. Like really, really love books. I'm the kind of person who brings novels to weddings and parties and road trips and even nature hikes. And, regardless of life's events, I always have to be reading something. Books actually help me to remember certain times in my life, whether they were good or bad, because I can usually remember what book I was reading during then, too.


Be mindful that the order that I am mentioning these books does not have to do with how much I like them or anything like that. Also, I will not be going into detail about what these books are about, because you can just search them up online and read their blurbs. I will mostly be telling you what makes them so great.

 

Middle Grade

 

Percy Jackson and the Olympians / Heroes of Olympus by Rick Riordan


Honestly, if I could be stuck on an island with one person, it would likely be Percy Jackson himself, because he is just one of the most amazing literary characters ever. And you know what else is amazing? Greek and Roman mythology, and Rick Riordan's clever incorporation of it through the context of the modern world. Uncle Rick, as the fandom has so famously dubbed him, continues to impress me with his creativity and, of course, his frequent use of humour. Percy Jackson books just make you feel great.


But they also want to make you roll on the floor and cry for hours.


And it is ultimately that blend of action, comedy, and utter tragedy that makes these books so good. Plus, the characters are legendary---I would want to be friends with every single one of them. I legitimately care about them. They helped me through some really tough times, and for that, I'm internally grateful.

 

The Kane Chronicles / Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard by Rick Riordan


Uncle Rick is back! Guess why I buy every single book he writes on their release days? Because he is awesome. If you want to learn everything there is to know about Egyptian and Norse mythology, please, please read these two series. You will thank me later. And, oh---what is Rick Riordan famous for? His diverse characters! His books are probably the most inclusive books I've read of all time. And for that, I respect him a lot.


Also, let's talk a little bit about Samirah Al-Abbas, Muslimah extraordinaire of the Magnus Chase series, and possibly one of the only Muslim literary characters who does not talk about her struggles being a minority or wearing the hijab, but instead does things like saving the world, shape-shifting, back-flipping, and chasing people around with her battle axe. I mean, does it get much better than that?

 

Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling


Do I even need to talk about Harry Potter? It's just... it's Harry Potter. If you haven't read it yet, what are you doing with your life? Go get the books. Now.


Okay, but I will say this---I think part of the reason why as Potterheads love these books so much is because the Wizarding World is just such a place of whimsy and comfort that we ceaselessly turn to it again and again, no matter where we are or what we're doing. The sheer joy that fills one's bones while reading these books (or watching the movies, though the books are always better!) is hopelessly addictive. Harry Potter, in its frequent discussion of grief and the reminder that you can get through whatever life throws at you, is something that personally speaks to me, since this book series helped me a lot after I was dealing with some really terrible things in life. So, thank you, Harry. I will always, always love your series. And oh... is that an owl outside my window? Goodness, I hope it's my Hogwarts letter!

 

Young Adult

 

Shadow and Bone Trilogy / Six of Crows / King of Scars by Leigh Bardugo


I...


I can't.


I just can't.


If you're Leigh Bardugo, and you choose to write books that are not just extraordinary in their writing style and plot, but also include characters that I would literally walk into fire for at a moment's notice... PLUS your books all take place in one epic universe that you've created, which features a country that is inspired by tsarist Russia...


Then I am at your mercy.


Six of Crows. Just... wow. Thank you, Leigh Bardugo, for giving us a story about people who are by no means heroes, but are instead a literal representation of society's outcasts and thus minorities. And thank you for making these people teenagers with traumatic and yet such believable backstories. Thank you for describing pain and loss like it actually is. Thank you for not sugarcoating this book in lies.


Shadow and Bone Trilogy and King of Scars---my heart pounds at the thought of these books. They are so epic, they are so exciting, they are so wonderful and beautiful and... and... *sniffs* Just read these books. Read them, and be enchanted. Be captured by a world that is so utterly magnificent that you will find tears on your page, again and again.

 

Throne of Glass / A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas


Imagine I'm in a field screaming.


That's how I would describe my feelings towards these books.


If you wish for that classic medieval Europe, filled with glass castles and horses and tyrant kings and oh-so-handsome princes, then Throne of Glass is your jam. And, oh yeah, did I mention magic? What about the Fae? If you love all the above, plus a lyrical writing style that will literally make you sigh with relief every fifteen seconds, then go for this series, because you will be gripping your seat the whole way through.


Do you really, really love the Fae? Like really, really love them? Do you want to see character development like it's never been done before? Do you want to meet beautiful High Lords and watch public executions? Well, A Court of Thorns and Roses blends action and romance together in ways that will make you want to skip school just to devour the books.


And Sarah J. Maas's characters... Phew. They are truly something. They are noble and fierce and passionate and dangerous... oh, they're wonderful. (P.S., be prepared for lots and lots of romance---it's kind of Sarah J. Maas's thing).

 

Adult

 

A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab


You know what would be amazing?


A series where we get parallel universes of the very magical and utterly charming city of London, England. A series that shows an empire that is successfully ruled by characters of colour who were not in fact victims of colonization because magic.


Because magic. Because A Darker Shade of Magic. It exists, everyone. Parallel universes. Princes? Monsters? Pirates? You might be thinking---oh, no, Ayishah did not say pirates, did she? She did. Pirates with pet cats! Magic-wielding pirates!


I blab on and on about this series to everyone. It's life-altering. Take me to Red London!

 

Vicious by V.E. Schwab


*Lying on the ground, staring up at the ceiling*


I'm shivering.


My heart is pounding.


*Gets up, sighs, looks at audience*


You know, there's science fiction, and then there's science fiction that seems so scientific that you kind of want to test it out with your best friend.


There are books that stay in your mind forever simply because the thrill factor is so high that sometimes, randomly, you will stop to think of scenes from that book, and will just kind of stare into the distance at nothing.


That's Vicious. It's so... vicious. People are getting stabbed. Gunshots are being fired. Did I mention superpowers? And, oh---villains. That's literally what the series is called: Villains by V.E. Schwab.


Before you read it, just remember... don't try any of this at home.

 

There are so many other books that I could have mentioned in this post.


There are, of course, the literary classics that unfortunately got neglected. But you know what? These are just SOME of my favourite books. And I did not even get into much detail about what makes them so special in particular---I just kind of told you why I love them.


So, please, go and read them if you can. They are absolutely extraordinary. They are the kind of books that will make you love reading if you think you aren't a reader.


Once again, I encourage you all to comment on what you would like to see in upcoming posts. I probably will not be updating every day, but I will still try to update when I can (weekly is what I'm trying to go for in the near future).


Thank you!




17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Writing Log #3 & Writer's Block

Have you ever found yourself staring at a blank piece of paper, your hands itching to writer, but no matter how much you try, nothing seems to come out? Ah, most of us must be very familiar with the t

The Dream Fulfilled

In my creative writing class, the professor asked us to read the introduction of Anne Lamott's Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life. It was a beautiful excerpt, filled with details abou

bottom of page