top of page
Search

What Really Matters


I know I've been on a kind of hiatus, but life's been very busy, so I apologize.


Though I've been working on a post that describes how to create good protagonists, I decided I would work on that later and post something different today instead.


2020, as you probably already know, has been full of a lot of bad news. While we wait at home in quarantine, we hear stories of doctors and nurses who are working on the front lines against the COVID-19 virus. While we wait at home in quarantine, we receive word that there's been a plan crash in Pakistan that killed 97 people. And while we wait at home in quarantine, we feel our hearts break as yet another victim of police brutality is taken away from us.


It seems, at this point, like all hope at lost.


I'm not here to give you an inspiring speech about being an optimist. I'm not trying to tell you that things are really okay, because they're clearly not.


It can be hard sometimes to extend our sympathy to the people who are suffering far out of our reach. We become content, instead, inside of our own little bubbles, and we believe that the darkness will never fully envelop us in its embrace.


But the truth is, we are all humans, and so it is up to remember each other's pain. It is up to us to listen to the stories of people who are having less fortunate experiences than us. It is up to us to extend our hearts, in whatever way we can, to trying to make this world a better place, and to bring hope wherever we can. Because trying is really what matters---trying to use our voices for change.


In light of dark times, I have often turned to writing. It allows me to express my thoughts and feelings through careful words, whether that's slam poetry, novels, or even just rants sent on text messages. And if you want to help people, then use your writing for good. Tell the world what you want to know even if you think you sound like you're being too bold, because truly, there is no such thing as being too bold. Above all else, never let yourself be silenced. Never be afraid to speak your mind when it comes to justice. Remember that there are people who need your strength just as you need strength from others.


Today was supposed to be my graduation day. And now, as the birds begin to sing outside my window (yes, it's that early in the morning), I can't help but think of how lucky I am to be graduating, whether I have a ceremony or not. How lucky I am to be alive and breathing. And I know that I should be using my luckiness to do some good.


So, I encourage you to go out there and to be sympathetic where you can, and to also, of course, be bold. Whether this is through writing, through conversation, or even through social media, it doesn't matter. Who you are and where you come from doesn't matter. Use your voice, and maybe you can help to clear up that darkness a bit.


Stay vigilant, everyone. But also let yourself feel.


Thank you.






9 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Writing Log #3 & Writer's Block

Have you ever found yourself staring at a blank piece of paper, your hands itching to writer, but no matter how much you try, nothing seems to come out? Ah, most of us must be very familiar with the t

The Dream Fulfilled

In my creative writing class, the professor asked us to read the introduction of Anne Lamott's Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life. It was a beautiful excerpt, filled with details abou

bottom of page